Tim Prasil: Reinventor of Tim Prasil

My new website intended to promote Help for the Haunted: A Decade of Vera Van Slyke Ghostly Mysteries (1899-1909) is open for business. If you missed the memo, it’s titled The Merry Ghost Hunter, a reference to Vera Van Slyke (and, I guess, to myself).

There’s plenty of information about my favorite lunch-loving, phrase-coining, beer-imbibing ghost hunter there. The Chronological Bibliography of Early Occult Detectives and several of my posts related to the research that went into it are there now. There’s a section for non-fiction, historical documents related specifically to ghosts, including a weekly series of “clippings” of actual ghost reports found in U.S. newspapers from Vera’s era. And, today, I transferred the last of the In the Shadow of Rathbone reviews of Sherlock Holmes films. Please give it a wander around.

Merry Ghost Hunter Blog

This raises the question: what are my plans for this site?

Well, there’s general information about my writing career, the stuff besides Vera Van Slyke and my interest in the history of occult detective/ghost hunter fiction. The idea is that, if someone were to search “Tim Prasil” instead of “Vera Van Slyke,” I want to show off more of the range of my writing, including the audio and stage drama scripts. (In fact, my 2016 goal is to finish Depot People, a six-character sequence of five playlets, all set a bus station. And it’s not even a haunted bus station!)

I’ll also write updates about my progress on current projects. For instance, if I stick to my chapter outline, I’m one-fifth done with the first Vera Van Slyke novel! I hope to finish that by the end of the year, too.

I’m hoping to find something to do here that’s a bit less self-indulgent, too. Keep an eye on it, but if you’ve come for one or more of the features on the former Tim Prasil: Inventor of Persons site, please know that it’s now probably over at The Merry Ghost Hunter.

Leave a Reply

